Sabah Government Supports Federal Constitution Amendment for MA63 Compliance


KOTA KINABALU: The state government led by Gabungan Rakyat Sabah fully supports the proposed bill to restore Sabah’s position in the Federation, Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor has said.

He said the proposed amendments tabled in parliament last month were the result of persistence on the part of Sabah and Sarawak.

Hajiji said he and his Sarawak counterpart had taken the states’ demands to the Special Council for the Malaysian Agreement of 1963 (MA63) chaired by the Prime Minister himself.

“So the bill to amend the Federal Constitution is actually the product of Special Council decision MA63 which took into account the demands of Sabah and Sarawak,” he said.

“The government of Sabah considers the formation of the MA63 Special Council to be a crucial phase and a manifestation of the will of the government of the day to resolve the issues that had been previously agreed upon,” Hajiji added.

Speaking at the briefing on the MA63 Special Council for Sabah MPs at the mini auditorium of the State Legislative Assembly near here on Saturday December 4, Hajiji said a technical committee had also been set up.

He said the committee chaired by Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun will negotiate a greater share of Petronas oil and gas revenues.

Hajiji said he personally met with the Chairman of Petronas to discuss the Business Cooperation Agreement (CCA), which he said would be signed soon.

“Through the CCA, Sabah will have greater revenue sharing as well as greater participation and say in our oil and gas affairs,” he said.

The special briefing for Assembly members was intended to provide an overview of the latest developments in the demands of the Sabah and Sarawak State Governments which have been submitted to the Federal Government through the MA63 Special Council.

Among those present at the meeting were Minister of Prime Minister’s Department (Sabah and Sarawak Affairs) Datuk Seri Dr. Maximus Ongkili and Minister of Agriculture and Food Industries Datuk Seri Dr. Ronald Kiandee and Minister of Department of Prime Minister (Parliament and Law) Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar.


Comments are closed.